A Boston Kid Living in an LA World

The Sign

“I hopped off the plane at LAX with my dream and a cardigan…” is somewhat of an accurate depiction of how I arrived in Los Angeles. But instead of hopping off the plane, I tripped off the plane and instead of wearing a cardigan, I sported a Boston University sweatshirt with a noticeable stain from my Dunkin Donuts coffee I had 7 hours ago. But I had a dream, so we’re shooting 1 for 3 here.

As a college student, when you tell people you’re going abroad, they usually say, “That’s awesome! Which country are you headed to?” My answer to that is… America. I’m headed to America. We’re currently in America, but to answer your question, it’s America. But hey, I can vouch that Los Angeles is a foreign world compared to Boston. So am I studying abroad? Physically, not really. Mentally, 100% yes.

In “the land of fame excess,” I first noted the perfect weather. As a Massachusetts native and senior at Boston University, I’m used to weather trying to kill you. There’s the mounds of snow, unbreathable cold air, winds that throw your umbrella across Comm Ave and the life or death situation that is swimming in the Charles. But out in LA, that’s not an issue. Plus, the people here are truly one of a kind. For example, today I witnessed a fully clothed man go for a 2 hour swim in the pool. White pants, a white long sleeve shirt and a white hat. What a time to be alive!

On the educational side of things, I currently take 3 night classes and intern at two reality tv companies: Kinetic Content and Fly on the Wall Entertainment. To give you a little bit on each, Kinetic Content produces hits such as Married at First Sight and the Little Women franchise. Fly on the Wall Entertainment’s claim to fame is CBS’s Big Brother, which is my all time favorite show. It’s surprising I have friends because I’ve definitely chosen watching Big Brother over going out with them. I lead a thrilling life, what can I say.

First day of interning at Kinetic Content, I actually ran into John Platt, a previous Amazing Race and Big Brother producer. Backstory, I was on this small reality show called Relative Insanity a few years back. Although the show got cancelled (maybe for the best because I was wicked embarrassing on it), I got to know the people behind the camera, including John. Now two years later, we coincidentally shared the same office space. He actually recognized me and introduced me to a portion of the office who had previously worked on Relative Insanity. If there’s one thing I’ve learned so far, it’s that reality television is actually a small business!

At Kinetic Content, I’ve also had the pleasure of working in the development field with fellow interns. We come up with ideas, learn how to develop them and then craft a pitch to a potential network. It’s a very relaxed environment and everyone is so willing to teach us the ins and outs of the business. Additionally, I worked a little bit on the third season of Married at First Sight. Although I can’t say anything about the show, I can definitely say this upcoming season is worth the watch!

Over at Fly on the Wall, I do research and different tasks for upcoming projects. Recently I sorted through applications and Skype interviews for a dating show that’s currently in production. I wish I could go into more detail because some people lead pretty scandalous lives. Maybe you’ll see them on TV one day!

Through Fly on the Wall, I also attended an eviction for Big Brother. Real talk, I almost died when I got to see Julie Chen and the set. I was unfortunately put in the back corner, but man was I thriving in the back corner and rocking the cheers from the area. You’re welcome CBS.

Boston has been my home for 21 years. I never saw myself going anywhere else because everything I thought I wanted was on the east coast. The BU LA program opened my eyes to the magic behind the Film/TV industry and the Los Angeles lifestyle. Walking through sets for shows such as Modern Family, Bones and New Girl and watching show tapings for Big Brother and The Soup made me realize just how much fun everyone has at doing their jobs. In the words of Howard Thurman, “Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” LA is home to countless people who did just that, those who have come alive and made the entertainment industry the force it is today.

Side note: Joel McHale is the most hilariously offensive person you’ll ever meet. 10/10 human.


Leave a comment